Quote of the Day

“You really have to look inside yourself and find your own inner strength, and say, ‘I’m proud of what I am and who I am, and I’m just going to be myself’.”   Mariah Carey 

Mariah is one of my biggest inspirations. To me, she is the epitome of elegance, strength and confidence. She doesn’t allow herself to get torn down about what others may say or think about her. She knows her worth and she knows how hard she’s worked to get to where she is. With the voice of an angel she delivers lyrics that tell not only her story, but the stories of so many people around the world. I haven’t heard a song of hers yet that I couldn’t relate to somehow, or that didn’t bring up memories of a certain part of my life. 

This quote means a lot to me because I used to always compare myself and my situation to others’ and I often felt inadequate and unhappy with myself. Whether it was my grades, my looks, my relationships I was always either punishing myself or validating myself based on other people’s lives. When I started to focus on myself and my own situations only, I was able to see the things that were going right for me instead of all of my failures. I was grateful for the things that I do have, not stressed over the things that I don’t. 

Share with me in the comments what this quote means to you and what impact this way of thinking has had on your life! 

Leave a Reply

